Author Confession 9: How I Pick…

How do you pick characters’ names?

I am a firm believer in choosing meaningful names. Greta transformed to Aisling when I learned the meaning of the name is “dreams, visions”. I usually scour baby books to learn the meaning of names. This gives my characters more diverse names with rich meanings.

Names transform over time, and when I think about a name, it has to have meaning behind it. Without meaning, I don’t think I could write a character name. For example, in  my work-in-progress, Of Light & War, my main character is named Domino, and she is named that after the game dominos. It’s a strange example, but it is symbolic to the character because she can’t stand her name.

-L.G.

Leave a Reply

