{Poetry}: Day Nineteen: Something You Regret

We all have regrets
(even the people who lie
and tell you they live life
with no regrets.
That everything happens for
a reason)
.

We all have mistakes
or things we wish we hadn’t done.

My mistake was loving him too much
and adoring his fatal flaws.
My regret is forgiving him too readily,
and allowing him to create craters
(in a life that deserved to be desert).

My regret was allowing him
to dye my water red
(with the blood of his malice,
the hatred of his enemies)

because once you taint the waters,
they will never come clean once more.

Post-traumatic stress doesn’t summarize
the trauma I experienced living under his thumb.
The fluctuation of moods, the fear of when the pendulum
would turn against me.
The trauma of everyday assaults on my very person.
My head struck of lightning,
my vision sailed with stars.

(My regret is forgiving him too readily
and allowing him to create craters.)

-L.G.

6 thoughts on “{Poetry}: Day Nineteen: Something You Regret

Leave a Reply

