{Poetry}: Day Ten: What you Wore Today

Ask me what I wore today, and I’ll tell you.
I wore a fake smile because sometimes,
the truth is hard-earned, and not everyone deserves that privilege.

Ask me what I wore today, and I’ll tell you.
I wore pity around my throat like a scarf and hope at my chest like a brooch.
It wasn’t easy making certain the pity stayed a scarf and not noose.
It wasn’t easy making sure hope didn’t shatter my breastbone.

Ask me what I wore today, and I’ll tell you.
I wore pajamas for the first half of the day because sometimes,
depression is crippling, and they don’t make wheelchairs for this kind of dehabilitation.

Ask me what I wore today, and I’ll tell you.
Tight jeans and a low-cut tank top because sometimes,
I need to feel pretty in the skin I’m in,
and sometimes, I want his jaw to drop to the floor.

And sometimes,
pajamas aren’t sexy
and pity & hope don’t coordinate with my low-cut tank top & tight jeans.

-L.G.

Leave a Reply

