The Name Game

When I took literature classes in high school, one of my teachers discussed the importance of names; the name Harold will summon up a different character than, say, Joshua. So when writing my novel, I made sure the main characters’ names had great meaning, ranging from the hard-to-pronounce Aisling McHale to the more traditional Michael. The minor characters’ names too contain meaning.

I struggled to name my antagonist because I wanted the name to be suitably dark and evil. I wanted the name to truly be worthy of the character. Aisling’s name has transformed from Hannah to Greta to finally, Aisling. The naming process is a painstaking one, and I am pleased to announce my antagonist has a name.

-L.G.

Leave a Reply

