Progress & the Artful Solution 

I’ve recently started creating art beyond my ordinary scope of artistic imagination. I have been tinkering with media I don’t normally use: paints, oil pastels, water colors, and I have dabbled with techniques utilized in art therapy methods. I’ve drawn with my eyes closed, painted with my non-dominant hand, and simply enjoyed the process, even when the end result is imperfect.

I’m coming to terms with imperfections. I’m preparing myself for the not-always-easy world. I’m forgiving myself my flaws and learning a lot in the process. I have a lot of personal work ahead, but I am making progress, whether it be developing an art portfolio and appreciating art again, or if it’s self-acceptance, I’m growing.

-L.G.

Leave a Reply

