Finding Myself (Again)


When did autumn arrive so quietly and without telling me? This morning when I left for work, the trees burnt with leaves on fire. Orange, scarlet, golden leaves. Trees were ablaze as morning sunrise struck the branches. The beauty overwhelmed me in a way only natural beauty can. I’ve been in a haze of my own bittersweet devices, and now I feel as though I am emerging from a long sleep, and I don’t ever recall being a Rip van Winkle.
There is beauty among us, and though she hesitates, when she emerges, she is radiant. I feel her majestic beauty reminds me to accept the hurt and the pain, the sacrifices. I’ve been lost in the middle of my hometown, and it’s starting to feel as though I’ve found myself again right where I left off the search.

-L.G.

6 thoughts on “Finding Myself (Again)

Leave a Reply

