{Thoughts}: Thoughts about Being the Other and A New Anthology.

I want to write an anthology involving “the other”.

I often felt like an outsider when I was growing up, and I think it would be beautiful to explore the stories of people who have felt like outsiders in their own lives but tell tales of triumph over adversity. Each story would be beautiful and unique and ring of truth. It would highlight the pain that insensitive people can bring upon these “others”, but more importantly, it would show how powerful we are when we transcend that. If anyone would like to share their story that I may choose to fictionalize for this anthology, please feel free to e-mail me at lucie.guerre AT gmail DOT com!

Thanks so much!!

I remember in eighth grade, I wrote an anonymous newspaper article about being the outsider and called it, “On the Outside Looking In”, and it received a lot of positive feedback from the adults I shared it with. My peers tended to ignore it and ridicule me more than usual, but I felt it was an important topic to broach even as a young teenager. I was about fourteen at the time, and I was incredibly tired of being mocked, teased, and ignored because I enjoyed writing more than I liked playing four-square. No one really supported my hobby, and even in high school, so-called friends teased me about my “nerdy” hobby.

A group of my girlfriends in high school were hanging out together after school, and I had just finished the beginning of a first chapter to a story I was writing. I had edited it with a teacher, and when I got to the locker bay to hang out with my friends, they began to pick on me mercilessly, teasing me, calling me names, pushing me around, shoving me into lockers, but the last thing they did was rip up the only copy of the chapter I had written called “Fireflies” with all my teacher’s editing marks. I was devastated, then they fled. I remember feeling so hurt and so alone, and I couldn’t talk to anyone about it because these girls were supposed to be some of my best friends.

That was just one way I felt like an outsider, but all my life, I felt like I was a loner masquerading as an extrovert. I think it’s important to explore the loneliness as part of the human condition, but also explore how one can triumph over such a sense of loneliness. I think it is important to realize that we can triumph over these adversities and become better people for it, and I think this anthology could celebrate that. If you would like to participate, please feel free to e-mail me!

PS. It doesn’t just have to be about skin color, this can be about anyone who has felt like an outsider. I don’t want people to feel alone or isolated in this project. I think it could help benefit a lot of people. I just think it’d be awesome if I could gather a bunch of people’s true stories and fictionalize them. It could really help people who feel disenfranchised or alone.

Also, what do you guys think of the idea? Would you read something like this? Would it interest you? Let me know!

-L.G.

Leave a Reply

