Rarely Seen: The Original Draft of the Work-in-Progress

draft

 

This is a rare, behind-the-scenes photograph of a very early draft of my current work-in-progress. I am so glad I made so many edits to the original draft. For example, Michael, Aisling’s best friend, originally started off with an atrociously cartoony Southern drawl. I dropped that, and I tightened up the language of the entire novel. There have been a lot of edits and drafts along the way (eight or nine at last count, not including handwritten ones like this one and another notebook I have), but I am finally writing again.

I am currently working on Chapter Six, and to be honest, I never thought I would get this far in my novel, but it is coming along nicely, and I am so excited to have over 13k words written. It is amazing to actually have the guts to finish one of my novels. I have been writing since I was seven, and I had so many drafts of stories on different computers over the years, but this is the one story that has tormented me since I was in  my early twenties.

If I can’t let go of this idea, I hope neither can you once I finish it. 🙂 If you would like me to include a transcript of my original draft seen above (as I know my handwriting is loopy and impossible to read), let me know!

-L.G.

Leave a Reply

