My Rock (or the Beauty of a Geode)

image

This may look like a small rock but inside lies a dormant magic that has fascinated me since I was young.

This rock is a geode. Tap on it gently with a hammer and inside you’ll find nestled against the rock, thousands of tiny crystals. I love the symbolism of geodes. Like pearls, they grow in the places you least expect them too, and it seems you have to look past their exteriors to see the beauty within.

However, grateful as I am for this gift, I’m tempted to not crack it open just yet. I enjoy knowing I have something of beauty that some people may just ignore.

Something about that, in itself, is beautiful to me.

-L.G.

Leave a Reply

